1 Comment

Throwback Thursday – Protein Energy Bites

I picked these energy bites for Throwback Thursday because they are one of my favorite snacks.  They are so easy to make and are the perfect healthy snack!  I tried using them as fuel on my long runs but they are really too good for that….I wanted to stop and enjoy them and keep eating….not a good idea when you are running!  Although they did work perfectly as a running fuel,  I found them to be much better for an afternoon pick-me-up at the office or even for a sweet dessert.

protein energy bites

 

Protein Energy Bites

Ingredients:

1 cup oats

1/2 cup unsweetened coconut

1/2 cup carob chips

3/4 – 1 cup peanut butter

1/3 cup honey

2 tablespoons chia seeds

Directions:

Mix ingredients together in a bowl, adding more peanut butter if too dry.  Roll into bite size balls and refrigerate for 30 minutes to allow time to firm up.  Transfer to an airtight container.

One comment on “Throwback Thursday – Protein Energy Bites

  1. I love chia seeds, eat them everyday. I am going to try this recipe. Thanks so much. Have a wonderful day. Renee :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 262 other followers

