6 Comments

The well-stocked healthy kitchen

I’ve always been one to have an easy meal on hand to just throw together when I hadn’t really planned anything else.  I considered this to be a well-stocked kitchen.  Actually, my “well-stocked kitchen” consisted of a box of spaghetti and a jar of pasta sauce and a few spices.  Now that we’ve been eating only real, unprocessed food, I have really become more conscious of what it means to have a well-stocked kitchen.  All of the items on my list are ingredients that I want to make sure I always have on hand so I can throw together a delicious, healthy meal in a matter of minutes.  And to be completely honest, I was shocked at how much better our food tasted than the standard pre-packaged convenience meal AND it took the same amount of time to prepare AND cost about the same.  So I thought I would share with you my list of staple pantry/refrigerator/spice rack items that I always keep on hand to make my life easier and healthier (and to avoid the temptation to just have a pizza delivered or go out).

healthypantry

Here is what you would find in my house:

Grains, Legumes

  • Pasta – various whole-grain, soba and rice noodles (be sure to read the ingredients….you don’t want anything enriched)
  • Rice – basmati, arbori, sushi, wild, texmati (Amazon has some great deals if you buy in quantity)
  • Quinoa, oats, millet
  • Lentils and dried, ready-to-eat bean mixes (great for slow cooker meals)
  • Canned beans – black beans, chick peas, kidney beans, cannelloni beans, red beans (again, read the label to make sure they don’t contain anything you don’t want)

Fruits, Vegetables

  • Onions
  • Garlic
  • Potatoes
  • Sun-dried tomatoes, canned whole tomatoes, tomato sauce, tomato paste

Herbs, Spices

  • Sea salt or kosher salt
  • Black pepper
  • Dried spices – cumin, chili powder, coriander, mustard seeds, red pepper flakes, saffron, ginger, paprika, turmeric, curry blend
  • Dried herbs – basil, mint, dill, rosemary, thyme, oregano, sage

Oils, Condiments, Flavorings

  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Vinegars – balsamic, apple cider, red wine, rice wine, exotic flavors
  • Naturally brewed soy sauce
  • Coconut milk
  • Teriyaki sauce
  • Salsa (all natural)
  • Olives
  • Honey
  • Real maple syrup

Other

  • Chicken or vegetable broth
  • Marinara and other all-natural pasta sauces (another reminder to read the label)
  • Canned wild-caught salmon
  • Bags of various frozen vegetables – corn, green beans, broccoli (for times when the fresh produce doesn’t look that great)
  • Whole wheat bread crumbs
  • Frozen all-natural chicken breasts
  • Frozen all-natural grass-fed beef
  • Frozen fruits (blueberries, strawberries, raspberries – when fresh is not available)
  • Almond milk
  • Dark chocolate bars
  • Wine (I should say it’s for cooking but you can do what you want with it :))

Having these basic ingredients on hand allows me to whip up a quick and easy meal while still providing a healthy, budget-friendly meal for my family.

What other items do you consider to be staples of a well-stocked kitchen?

6 comments on “The well-stocked healthy kitchen

  1. I have a lot of the same staples in my fridge and pantry, including the wine ;)! For this past year, coconut oil, coconut aminos, my homemade salad dressing, kale, organic mixed greens, cooked or sprouted quinoa, chia and hemp seeds, and raw nuts and raw sunflower seeds have always been in my fridge. If time is not on my side, I can always through together a big protein salad within minutes!

  2. Your list looks like it covers more than the basic…great idea and especially love having the dark chocolate in the mix. 🙂

  3. […] I’ve always been one to have an easy meal on hand to just throw together when I hadn’t really planned anything else.  I considered this to be a well-stocked kitchen.  Actually, my &#822…  […]

Leave a Reply

