12 Comments

Slow cooker chicken tortilla soup

When it comes to cooking, I’ll admit that I’m a little lazy, especially on weekends.  By the time I get done with grocery shopping and laundry and all the other stuff I have to get done over the weekend, I just don’t want to cook.  But I still want to eat well.  So this was the perfect solution for me today….not to mention that the temperature is in the 30s and I am more of a warm weather kind of girl :).  An easy slow cooker soup was the ideal choice for the day and I already had all of the ingredients on hand.  I just threw it all in the slow cooker, headed out to the gym and got my grocery shopping done.  By the time I got back, the house was smelling absolutely delicious and the whole family was looking forward to dinner.  Although I made it with chicken, you can easily just leave out the chicken and it will still be delicious.

chicken tortilla soup

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb bonesless all natural chicken breasts
  • 5 cups organic chicken broth
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 can black beans
  • 1 cup frozen corn
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 can fire roasted diced tomatoes
  • 2 tablespoons chili powder
  • 1 tablespoon cilantro
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Directions:

Put everything in the crockpot and cook on low 6-8 hours.  Garnish with sliced avocado, cheese, and a scoop of Greek yogurt.  (I really feel like I should write some additional directions but that’s really all there is to it!)

chicken tortilla soup 2

Total cost for this meal was about $10 and fed 4 very generous servings plus plenty of leftovers for my lunch tomorrow.  Leaving the chicken out would cut the cost in half, at least.  Eating real food is delicious and super easy!

 

Are you part of our incredible Facebook community?  Also check out our Pinterest boards!

12 comments on “Slow cooker chicken tortilla soup

  1. Love it – I reblogged this on my blog linking to you. Looks like total comfort food!

  2. Looks delicious! I love my slow cooker, but had a slow cooker fail a couple days ago…no blog about that I fear!

  3. Reblogged this on Joyfully Submitted and commented:
    This is a great recipe to add to your meal plan!! This time of the year the slow cooker DEFINITELY makes serving a little more joyful..use it 😀

  4. […] Chicken Tortilla Soup  With so many different foods in here, this soup is an incredible combination of flavors.  You could even make a vegetarian version by omitting the chicken.  This is true comfort food! […]

  5. This looks amazing! Can’t wait to try it 🙂

  6. […] 2.  Slow cooker chicken tortilla soup […]

  7. This would easily be a family favorite at my house! Pinned! 🙂

  8. This looks so yummy! Definitely have to try it!

  9. […] Slow cooker chicken tortilla soup | my real food family […]

  10. […] Slow cooker chicken tortilla soup | my real food family […]

  11. […] Slow cooker chicken tortilla soup | my real food family […]

Leave a Reply

