Leave a comment

Blueberry Oatmeal Bake

I usually don’t spend a lot of time making breakfast because I’m always in a hurry in the morning.  My typical breakfast on the go is some type of smoothie…my favorite is my Blueberry Smoothie.  But since I had a day off from my “real” job, I thought I’d try something a little different with what I had on hand.  I ended up with this yummy blueberry oatmeal bake.  It made a good sized batch so now I’ve got leftovers that I can take to work and reheat.  So now breakfast for a few days is done already!

blueberry oatmeal bake

Blueberry Oatmeal Bake

Ingredients:

3 ripe bananas

1 1/2 cups organic blueberries

1/4 cup honey

1 cup uncooked rolled oats

1/4 cup pecans

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

3/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Pinch salt

1 cup unsweetened almond milk

2 egg whites

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Line an 8×8 or 9×9 baking dish with parchment paper or lightly mist with non-stick spray.  Slice bananas into 1/2 inch slices and arrange on bottom of the baking dish.  Sprinkle 1/2 of the blueberries over bananas, 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon, 1 teaspoon honey.  Cover with foil and bake 15 minutes.

In a medium bowl, combine oats, 1/2 of nuts, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt.  Add remaining honey, milk, eggs, and vanilla.

Pour mixture over bananas and sprinkle remaining blueberries and nuts on top.  Bake for 30 minutes until oatmeal is set.  Serve warm.

Leave a Reply

