2 Comments

Shrimp lettuce wraps

Since joining a neighborhood co-op, I have been challenged to use the food I get to come up with new dishes to serve my family.  This is especially challenging because I tend to get stuck in a rut and fix the same things over and over again.  The cool thing about the co-op is that I get a huge variety of food (some things that I don’t ordinarily use) and I never know what we will get so I have to be creative.  This was one of the creations that resulted from using some of our co-op veggies and items we already had on hand.  And it was delicious!

 

 

shrimp wraps

 

Shrimp Lettuce Wraps

Ingredients:

Large lettuce leaves

2 medium avocados

1/4 cup plain Greek yogurt

1 tablespoon fresh lime juice

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

1/2 teaspoon chili powder (or more if you want it spicier)

1 pound uncooked shrimp, peeled and deveined

1/2 cup chopped red onion

1/2 cup cilantro

1/2 cup grape tomatoes, halved

1/2 cup alfalfa sprouts

All natural salsa

 

Directions:

Mash 1 1/2 avocado (save other half for garnish) and mix with Greek yogurt.  Combine shrimp with lime juice, cumin, chili powder, onion and cilantro.  Sautee until shrimp is thoroughly cooked.  Spread avocado yogurt mix on lettuce leaves and add shrimp mixture.  Top with grape tomatoes, salsa, sprouts and avocado.   This was delicious and filling with a side of rainbow quinoa!

2 comments on “Shrimp lettuce wraps

  1. I’m so jealous of communities that have neighborhood co-ops! I think they’re amazing and really wish I could participate in one. I totally get stuck in a rut, too. I’m not a seafood person, but my hubby loves shrimp. Great recipe!

Leave a Reply

