42 Comments

Gluten free Quinoa Brownies

Since discovering quinoa a few months ago, I’ve looked at tons and tons of recipes with quinoa.  If you haven’t heard about all the amazing healthy benefits of quinoa, read this article.  I ran across a recipe for a quinoa chocolate cake that sounded very interesting.  I still wasn’t sure about making a dessert with quinoa so I just kept it in the back of my head.  One night at book club, I was talking with my friend Angela about the quinoa chocolate cake.  Her reaction was similar to what I had been thinking….I was really curious about it but it sounded a little risky.  After all, I really try to limit my desserts so if I do have dessert, I really want to enjoy it.  And I just wasn’t sure I would enjoy a quinoa chocolate cake.  So I didn’t make it.  A few weeks later, Angela emailed me a recipe for a quinoa cake.  I guess I just received the email at the right time and happened to have all of the ingredients on hand to make it.  So I went right into the kitchen and made it.  Was I ever surprised!  It was delicious!  I hadn’t blended the quinoa enough so it had a little bit of the quinoa texture to it but was still really yummy!  I also thought it would be better in brownie form (since cake should always have frosting, in my opinion).  So I just modified Angela’s recipe and these brownies came out beautifully!  You’ll want to make sure to have a glass of milk nearby!

quinoa brownie

Gluten Free Quinoa Brownies

Ingredients:

2/3 cup quinoa

1 1/3 cup water

1/3 cup almond milk

3 large eggs

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

3/4 cup unsalted organic butter, melted and cooled

1 1/2 cup coconut palm sugar

1 cup cocoa powder

1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions:

Make the quinoa according to package directions and allow to cool.  Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Lightly mist an 8×8 or 9×9 baking dish or line the bottom of the pan with parchment paper.  In a blender or food processor, combine the milk, eggs, and vanilla.  Add the cooked quinoa and butter and continue to blend until smooth.  In a medium bowl, whisk together the sugar, cocoa, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Add the blender contents to the dry ingredients and mix well.  Pour the batter into baking dish and bake on the center rack for about 40 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.  Remove the brownies from the oven and cool completely in the pan before serving.

Store in a sealed container in the refrigerator for up to a week or freeze for up to 1 month.  Serves 8-16.

Have you ever used quinoa in a dessert?

 

Are you part of our incredible Facebook community?  You can also follow us on Pinterest to see all of our latest recipes!

42 comments on “Gluten free Quinoa Brownies

  1. so sorry but it really irks me that you are promoting Hershey’s when there are fair trade, organic, slave-free cocoa & chocolates available. That being said, I do appreciate your posts 🙂

    • I appreciate your comments. My family has fairly recently converted to all unprocessed foods and we are learning more and more about issues related to foods and their production. I’m using up things we have previously had on hand and replacing them with better options.

      • We are trying, too. We are in our 60’s & grew up on canned veggies & Miracle Whip. We eat mostly locally sourced beef, pork & poultry; have our own layers for enough eggs & some to share. I’ve slowly converted some of my purchases. Recently started buying organic sugar (not that we use a lot; my husband has diabetes). Some items I’ve just decided “That’s It!” Don’t even fret about the “price”; the cost to me is worth the satisfaction of using my dollars to help make things change. I am so pleased to finally see organic food in the grocery stores & the growth of farmer’s markets & seeing younger people taking up this issue. Keep up the good work!

      • I grew up on canned veggies too as well as lots of fried food. The thought of eating that stuff now makes me ill. I definitely don’t have a problem paying a little more for certain things that are better for my family. And the more I learn, the more I have realized that there are so many things that we can change. There’s so much at this point, I am just prioritizing them for my family and we’re making gradual changes. Hopefully it’s setting a good example for my kids and they will become more aware of the bigger issues in the world and help continue the changes and make the world a better place!

  2. The farmers get more money so they can afford to buy more refined, cheaper food, like they foods we are trying to become less vulnerable to. So is it worth it to do that to them? It is ironic, huh? Hypocritical? Come to your own conclusion. I don’t need a gluten-free diet, so for me it’s simple. And I certainly don’t need the extra protein since I am an omnivore. Interesting site. Thank you!

  3. Life has gotten so complicated. One anecdote: when my daughter was about 10 yrs old a new girl moved to town & invited her over to have lunch & play. I learned the mom was a dietitian, so when she got home I asked what they had for lunch. Her response has stuck with me all these years. “Hot dogs & macaroni & cheese. Did you know macaroni And Cheese come in a Box?!!!”
    We do what we can 🙂

  4. I’ve been hesitant to do ‘dessert’ as well…but these look great!

  5. Reblogged this on juiceplusforyou and commented:
    These sound great! Thanks for sharing!!!

  6. […] current favorite dessert is these amazing Gluten Free Brownies.  They are absolutely delicious and you would never know they are made with all real food […]

  7. […] worry! I made them the other day and they were quite good. The original recipe can be found on the My Real Food Family blog. As you’ll see from the recipe, it originally calls for butter. I used coconut cooking […]

  8. Looking forward to trying this. I made some quinoa blondies last week, but that recipe called for quinoa flour. Like the idea of using cooked quinoa instead of quinoa flour.

  9. I have made and love the chocolate quinoa cake but use Xylitol instead of sugar as it is low glycemic and okay for diabetics. I also use organic coconut oil in place of butter as it has a myriad of health benifits.

  10. Hi, I just found this recipe since I’ve used a different recipe for quinoa-almond butter blondies where the quinoa is just ground into flour. My one question is, the 2/3 cup of quinoa in your recipe – is the measurement of the dry quinoa OR is it measured to 2/3 cup after cooking it?

  11. I love new ways to use quinoa, these brownies look tasty and I will have to give them a go. I made some super healthy gluten free brownies and they turned out really super tasty. Here is the link if you are interested http://bit.ly/12Zks7Y

  12. […] what to share for this blog post, I had several different things that I was considering.  These Quinoa Brownies have been one of my most viewed and pinned desserts.  But, since it’s super hot here this […]

  13. I never would have thought of using quinoa this way. These look fabulous! Thanks for sharing at Simple Supper Tuesday.

  14. I love quinoa but haven’t tried it in a sweet dish. It looks great. Thanks for sharing at the Tried and True Recipe party.

  15. Hello! these look amazing! What if I don’t have coconut palm sugar nor almond milk? What can i use to substitute them? thanks!!

    felicia
    http://dishbydish.net

    • You could use regular white sugar and dairy milk. I use non-dairy milk in everything and try to stay as unprocessed as possible with sugar but these substitutions would work fine. Thanks for stopping by!

  16. Oh my word, this looks amazing! I have been searching for a good brownie recipe since I became sugar and gluten free. I have also been searching for ways to enjoy quinoa more 🙂 I am so excited to try this and I don’t even bake! I appreciate you experimenting, especially since I am a non-cook. I may experiment with stevia as the sugar base.

  17. The quinoa brownies are amazing. They are a new favorite in my house. Thank you so much for sharing!

  18. I have a request from a friend to make these… just one question. Is the quinoa white flakes, or the white, red, or black seeds? ♡

  19. […] Gluten-Free Quinoa Brownies With no processed flours and coconut palm sugar as the sweetener, this recipe gets our stamp of […]

  20. The cake looks nice 🙂
    Thanks for the recipe…

  21. […] what to share for this blog post, I had several different things that I was considering.  These Quinoa Brownies have been one of my most viewed and pinned desserts.  But, since it’s super hot here this […]

  22. I made this last night and it turned out great! But after reading the comments, i realized that I used too much quinoa (the recipe doesn’t specify though)! I used 2/3 c dry quinoa, and soaked it for two days to maximize the digestion. If you scroll through the comments, it says to use 2/3 cup cooked quinoa apparently. Either way, it worked for me! The result was very moist! I also ended up making another small change. I realized at the last minute that I didn’t have enough coconut sugar. So I ended up using 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup maple syrup and 1/2 cup medjool dates (this worked out to 6 dates). I blended it all together in the vitamix, then added to the dry ingredients. The end result is a delicious, moist chocolate cake/brownie. This variation turned out not as dense as a brownie, but also not as light as cake. I am in love with it actually:) Thought I’d share just in case someone else finds themselves in the same situation!

  23. Oops, I should clarify – I ended up using 1/2 coconut sugar (not regular sugar!)

  24. I recently tried these and I absolutely love them!! So delicious! Thank you for sharing!! 🙂

  25. […] worry! I made them the other day and they were quite good. The original recipe can be found on the My Real Food Family blog. As you’ll see from the recipe, it originally calls for butter. I used coconut cooking […]

  26. Thanks so much for this recipe. I’m a fan of chocolate brownie but now I’m on a health buzz I’ve not enjoyed any for ages as my best recipes previously used heaps of ingredients I’m trying to avoid. This is actually better than any I’ve tried. Love love love the texture, moisture and flavour. Thank you!!

Leave a Reply

