7 Comments

Slow Cooker Salsa Chicken

slow cooker salsa chicken

This is one of the absolute easiest slow cooker meals ever!  I actually did the prep work last night while I was cooking dinner so all I had to do today was turn on the slow cooker.  When I came home from work, dinner was ready (and the house smelled awesome)!  The prep work took all of about 2 minutes (seriously)!  During dinner, my daughter asked if we could have salsa chicken every night!

Ingredients:

2 lbs all natural chicken breast

1 jar all natural salsa (I use Newman’s own mild or medium – just be sure to read the ingredients to make sure it really is all natural ingredients)

1 can diced tomatoes (I used fire roasted diced tomatoes)

1 onion

1 lemon

Directions:

Place chicken in crockpot.  Pour in salsa and tomatoes.  Chop onion and add to crockpot.  Squeeze lemon juice on top.  Cook on low 6-8 hours.  Chicken will shred easily with a fork.

Yep, that’s it….doesn’t get much easier than that!   Serve with whole wheat tortillas, black beans, a little cheese, and avocado.

salsa chicken

Check out my recipe for homemade tortillas too for a deliciously healthy alternative to store bought tortillas!

7 comments on “Slow Cooker Salsa Chicken

  1. I used to make this quite often but forgot about it recently so thanks for the reminder! It’s so easy and delicious. I usually add some frozen corn and black beans to make it stretch. And the leftovers are amazing.

  2. I just wanted to stop by and say Merry Christmas!! I love your slow cooker recipes, this one looks to die for!

  3. This was so good! My husband said this was the best meal I’ve made since switching to eating whole foods.

  4. One of my favourite crock pot meals. Thanks for sharing at Simple Supper Tuesday!

Leave a Reply

