4 Comments

Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Ice Cream

I came across several recipes for healthier versions of ice cream but I’ll admit I was a little skeptical about them.  Ice cream is one of my favorite things in the entire world but now keep it as a very, very, very rare treat.  Nothing about regular ice cream fits in with a real food lifestyle.  So as much as I love the stuff, I just don’t want to put it into my body.  I honestly thought I would never be able to regularly enjoy it again (and without guilt)…..but I CAN!!!  And now I’m a very happy girl that I can have this ice cream any time I want to!  Yay me!  And my teenager even liked it (I was nice enough to let her try some).

This is so easy to make with just 3 simple ingredients that you probably already have at home!  And I love that it has no added sugar, cream, or anything I wouldn’t eat by itself.

 

ice cream

Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Ice Cream

Ingredients:

4 large ripe bananas (make sure they are very ripe so they are sweet)

2 tablespoons all natural peanut butter

1 tablespoon unsweetened cocoa

Directions:

Slice bananas into 1/2″ slices and place in a single layer on a plate or baking sheet.  Place in freezer for 1-2 hours.  Add frozen bananas, peanut butter and cocoa to blender and blend until smooth and creamy.  This will make your blender work pretty hard so be sure to use a quality blender.  You can either serve as soft serve or put in the freezer for more solid ice cream.

4 comments on “Chocolate Peanut Butter Banana Ice Cream

  1. Sounds different. 🙂 have a great weekend! Hugs Paula. Xx

  2. Hi April 🙂

    Stopping over from bloggy moms.

    This ice cream looks really good. Will have to try it.

    Following you!

    Bismah @

    http://simplemamaathome.blogspot.com/

    http://www.facebook.com/pages/Simple-Mama/452230831515357

  3. Looks fabulous! Thanks for sharing at Simple Supper Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

