3 Comments

Lemon Zucchini Bread

I have always loved lemon bread and would often buy it from the grocery store or Starbuck’s.  It’s lemon so it must be healthy, right?  Yeah, not so much.  I actually looked at the nutrition information and was shocked….and haven’t had it since .  It was WAY worse than I thought.  And honestly, I really, really miss it.  I’m not at Starbuck’s as often these days (or the bakery section) but I would really like to have some sweet, dessert type bread.  Not only that, I was curious about how zucchini would work in bread.  I’ve actually made chocolate zucchini bread and thought it was absolutely delicious but anytime you add chocolate to something, it has to be good.  But, even without chocolate, this bread is delicious and has just the right amount of sweetness to it.  Moist doesn’t even begin to describe this bread.  It’s truly perfect for a dessert bread or for breakfast with a cup of coffee.  Add a good book and a nice morning to the bread and coffee and it might just be the perfect day!

lemon zucchini bread

 

Lemon Zucchini Bread

Ingredients

2 cups unbleached white whole wheat flour

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

1 egg

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk

2 tbsp. fresh squeezed lemon juice

zest of one lemon

1/2 cup coconut palm sugar

1 cups grated zucchini

 

Directions

In large bowl mix dry ingredients.

In a separate bowl, combine, egg, applesauce, almond milk, lemon juice, lemon zest and sugar.  Combine thoroughly and add zucchini.  Mix well and add to dry ingredients.

Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix until combine.  Pour into loaf pan and cook on 350 degrees F for about 1 hour 10 minutes.

 

Have you ever hidden veggies in any dishes (especially sweets) like this?

If you’re not already following us on Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest or email, be sure you do so you don’t miss anything!

3 comments on “Lemon Zucchini Bread

  1. This looks yummy! I’ll have to give it a go 🙂 x

  2. I love anything lemon so I was anxious to give this a try. the flavor was excellent! I used entire zest and juice from 1 lemon, added about 1/2 t. vanilla and 1 t. lemon extract. The only problem was that the texture was extremely dense! Not good! I notice there is no baking soda. Is this an error in the recipe? I don’t know what else would have made it so dense since I was very careful not to over mix (mixed by hand to be sure!). I even put a little confect. sugar/lemon juice glaze on top because the bread itself was not overly sweet.

    • I did not add baking soda and we liked the texture. You could probably use less baking powder and add baking soda to see if you like the texture better. I’ll try to play around with the recipe more and see if I can improve it.

Leave a Reply

