2 Comments

Toasted Pine Nut Hummus

I’m a HUGE fan of hummus (in case you didn’t already know).  It’s just one of those very versatile food items that can be used for so many different things….for dipping, sandwich spread, top something else, etc.  I wasn’t really wanting to do another post about hummus since there are a couple of others on my blog already but I really felt like I had to with this one.

 

This actually came about while I was vacationing with my family in San Francisco.  We went on a whale watching trip on a 64 foot boat with a group of people.  It was about a 5 hour trip and there wasn’t much going on so several people went in to the cabin area to eat the snacks they had brought.  My 16-year-old daughter and I were sharing a table with another couple that was snacking on pita chips and store-bought pine nut hummus.  It smelled so good!  I mentioned it to my daughter a little later and she said she tried really hard not to look at it so she didn’t steal it from them (I’m pretty sure she likes hummus more than I do!).  So I promised her we could experiment with it when we got home and here’s what we came up with:

 

pine nut hummus

 

Toasted Pine Nut Hummus

 

Ingredients:

  • 15 oz can chick peas – drained and rinsed
  • Juice of one lemon
  • 1 garlic clove
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ cup tahini
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • ¼ c pine nuts – toasted (garnish)
  • Paprika (garnish)

Directions:

Toast pine nuts 15-20 minutes at 350 degrees watching carefully near the end to make sure they don’t burn.  While the nuts are toasting, combine chickpeas, lemon juice, garlic, salt, tahini, olive oil and water in a food processor.  Blend until desired consistency (adding more olive oil or water if needed).  Top with pine nuts and paprika to garnish.  Enjoy with pita bread, your favorite veggies or use as a spread for sandwiches or wraps!

2 comments on “Toasted Pine Nut Hummus

  1. That sounds yummy! Hugs and I hope you had a great day. Paula xxx

  2. That must be delicious! I love pine nuts – great idea!:)

Leave a Reply

