2 Comments

Quinoa Breakfast Bites

I really don’t get to sleep in very frequently but every time I do, I wake up full of energy and ready to face the day.  Mornings are definitely my most productive time.  But with my crazy marathon training schedule, work, and life in general, the opportunity to sleep in is rare.  Today was the day!  I was so excited to get up on my own and not to an alarm clock!  I slept all the way until 7:30 AM!  Crazy, huh?  And a little sad that I’m so excited about voluntarily waking up at a time that my kids would complain about being way too early.  Oh well, it’s all in your perspective, I guess.  Anyway, back to the original point here (clearly the coffee is working now), I woke up full of energy…and hungry.  When I cook breakfast at home, I love making scrambled eggs loaded with different veggies, mainly because I love it and it’s so easy.  But that just wasn’t going to work for me today.  What I was really craving was something a little more fun..you know, like bite sized appetizer-type deliciousness that’s still healthy.  So I decided to just throw and few things together and see what happened.  This creation was much more fun to eat!  They would be great to make ahead of time and just reheat for a few seconds for a quick and easy breakfast to go.  Although I gobbled them up plain, they would be great dipped in salsa or whatever you like to dip things in.  Perfect for brunch or an anytime appetizer too!

quinoa breakfast bites

Quinoa Breakfast Bites

(makes 24 mini muffin bites)

Ingredients:

1 cup uncooked quinoa

2 cups vegetable stock (or water – but vegetable stock adds a nice flavor)

1 tomato, diced

1/2 cup mushrooms, diced

1/2 cup spinach, chopped into small pieces

1/2 cup mozzarella cheese

2 egg whites

1 teaspoon garlic salt

1 teaspoon pepper

Directions:

Cook quinoa in broth (or water) according to package directions.  In a large bowl, combine the remaining ingredients.  When quinoa has finished cooking, add to other ingredients while still warm.  Scoop into lightly oiled mini muffin tins and bake on 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes.  Eat them plain or with your favorite dipping sauce.

2 comments on “Quinoa Breakfast Bites

Leave a Reply

