Leave a comment

Pineapple Salsa

Happy Friday!   This is a guest post I did for This SIlly Girl’s Life!  Be sure to stop by her page and check it out! 

Hi everyone!  I’m April from My Real Food Family  and I am thrilled to be a guest blogger on This Silly Girl’s Life!   I started blogging about food last October after I realized how easy it was to make healthy, delicious, and unprocessed foods.  As a marathon runner, I was really concerned about what I put into my body and wanted to feel good about what I fed my family.  That led to lots of experimentation and some amazing food discoveries!

My family loves Mexican food.  I think all of us could eat it almost every day and not get tired of it!  Living in Texas, we have a pretty good selection of Mexican restaurants too.  Over the years, Mr. Real Food has become somewhat of a connoisseur of salsa (he can eat it by the bucket).  Maybe not so much a connoisseur as an addict, but whatever.  He especially loved this Salsa Verde that I made a few weeks ago.  I’ll admit it, that was some good salsa.  I was intrigued by some of the other salsa recipes I kept seeing with fruit though…pineapple, mango,  watermelon…but I never got around to trying them.  Since we got a pineapple in our last co-op basket, I thought it was the perfect time to give it a go.  And it turned out to be a big hit at the 4th of July cookout I took it to!  It was perfect for dipping chips but would be an amazing topping for tacos, grilled chicken, fish, or anything else you could dream up.  Yes, it’s that good.  Oh, and I forgot the best part – it’s super easy to make and good for you!

pineapple salsa 2

Pineapple Salsa

Ingredients:

1/2 pineapple, cut into rings

7 Roma tomatoes (you can use more or less depending on how much you like tomatoes, mine were pretty small), diced

1/2 red onion, diced

1/4 cup cilantro

Juice from 1 lime (more or less depending on how much you like lime)

Directions:

Place pineapple rings in a single layer on a baking dish and broil in oven 5 or 6 minutes.  Allow to cool and cut into small chunks.  Combine with tomatoes, onion, and cilantro.  Top with lime juice and stir until combined.  Serve immediately or chill for a few hours to allow flavors to meld together.  Serve with chips or top your favorite meat.

I’d love to have you stop by my blog at My Real Food Family and check out some of the other great recipes (including some healthy desserts)!  And feel free to visit us on Pinterest and Facebook for even more fun and food!

12394_10201085191835783_1610395954_nuntitled

Leave a Reply

