1 Comment

Healthy Banana Pudding

This is the guest post I did for Hungry Little Girl that was published on her page today.  We could all use a little dessert, right?!?

Thanks to Hungry Little Girl for allowing me to guest post today!  Just a little about me:

12394_10201085191835783_1610395954_nHowdy!  My name is April Mims, founder of My Real Food Family.  I live in Texas (where it’s about a billion degrees right now) with my husband, 2 daughters (1 is away at college), 2 cats, and 1 dog.  I don’t actually ever say howdy, but people expect that all Texans say it so there you go (I also don’t wear a cowboy hat or boots or ride a horse)!  As a busy mom and distance runner with very minimal cooking skills (and by minimal I mean none) and extremely limited time, I often turned to convenience foods that were so unhealthy for us and loaded with artificial ingredient.  Just read the ingredient list on some foods – I couldn’t even pronounce many of them!  So I began the quest to switch my family over to all real foods.  Once we started, it wasn’t as bad as we thought.  Actually, it was quite good!  After a while I actually started craving vegetables and healthy foods!  Who knew vegetables could be this good and just as easy to cook?!?  So now between work, life, and marathon training, I experiment with healthy food recipes and blog about them.  You might even be surprised at the healthy foods that you can sneak in without anyone knowing that it’s healthy!

Check out my blog, Facebook, and Pinterest for all of my easy real food recipes!

As I was trying to figure out what to share for this blog post, I had several different things that I was considering.  These Quinoa Brownies have been one of my most viewed and pinned desserts.  But, since it’s super hot here this weekend, I didn’t want to turn the oven on.  I’d actually like to leave it off for the next 2 or 3 months but I’m sure that’s not really a possibility.  So this turned out to be the perfect recipe to make!  Not only is it rich, creamy, and delicious, it requires absolutely no cooking.  I really feel kind of guilty for posting a recipe that contain the directions “throw everything in a food processor and blend” but that’s really all there is to this one.  It takes less than 5 minutes to make and has all natural ingredients and no added sugar!  The bananas and maple syrup add just the right amount of natural sweetness that you don’t need to add anything else.  Oh, and if you don’t like tofu (like me), don’t worry – the bananas and peanut butter completely cover the taste.  The tofu only adds extra protein and makes it smooth and creamy…just the way pudding should be.

banana pudding

Healthy Banana Pudding

Ingredients:

16 ounce package of tofu, cubed

3 bananas, sliced

2 tablespoons peanut butter

4 tablespoons almond milk

1 tablespoon pure maple sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Sprinkle of cinnamon

Sprinkle of nutmeg

Directions:

Place all ingredients into food processor and blend until smooth and creamy.  Spoon into serving dishes and refrigerate until ready to serve.  Makes about 4 servings.

Have you ever used secret ingredients (like quinoa, tofu, or avocado) in desserts?  How did it turn out?

Thanks again to Hungry Little Girl for allowing me to guest post on her awesome page!

~ April ❤

One comment on “Healthy Banana Pudding

  1. This looks so amazing! I need to make some of this ASAP! Thanks for sharing! ❤

Leave a Reply

