2 Comments

Marathon Training – Week 15

I can’t believe that there is only one week until race day!  When I started training, it seemed so far away but it’s finally time!  I’d like to say that I am enjoying the taper time with far fewer miles but that hasn’t been the case.  This week has been up and down between feeling good and feeling bad.  My food choices were good all week and I’ve made more than my usual effort to stay hydrated.  I’ll be watching my food and hydration even more carefully during this final pre-race week.

 

imagesCA71XPDH

So here’s the recap of the week:

Monday:

Met my friend Patricia at 5:30 AM to run some hills.  I hadn’t plan on running any more hills but it was nice to have someone to run with so I ran some hills.  It was hot and humid and the hills were tough, but we had a great run.  Then off to work for a busy day.  During the day, our marathon group started discussing carpooling to the airport.  I first thought it was a little early to start talking about this until I realized we’re leaving next Friday.  OMG…I’m running a marathon in a little over a week!

Tuesday:

I only had a 6 mile run today so I decided I would do that after work since it was a relatively short run.  I didn’t realize how much I had adjusted to running in the morning.  I really like getting my run finished before starting the rest of the day.  By the end of the day, I just didn’t want to run.  I did anyway (and was glad I did).  I was expecting (hoping) to have more energy but I felt pretty drained.  Maybe it’s just the heat…I don’t think anyone wants to do anything when it’s a bazillion degrees outside.

Wednesday:

I didn’t learn my lesson from yesterday about waiting until the end of the day to run so I ended up running after work (and a brief nap).  I guess the sluggishness that comes with the taper has officially kicked in.  I got my 4.5 miles done but it wasn’t my best run ever.

Thursday:

Today was just a bad day.  My legs were super sore, I was so tired, had absolutely no motivation to do anything.  I think every negative thought that could go through my mind did today.  Even though I’ve experienced this during a taper before and know it’s normal, I started feeling very anxious about the marathon.  I questioned whether or not I was really ready, if I could actually do this or not, if I should run more this week, blah, blah, blah.  It’s really not like me to dwell on negative thoughts like this but the marathon really has a way of messing with one’s head.

Friday:

I finally learned my lesson about running in the morning and actually got my butt out of bed for 4.5 miles on the treadmill.  All the negative thoughts were gone today and I actually felt pretty good.  See what I mean about the ups and downs of running a marathon?

Saturday:

The last “long” run of training!  Woohoo!  We ran a brutally hot 11 miles at a pretty easy pace.  I had planned on 13 miles but it was just way too hot.  So we had bagels and talked for a while.

Sunday:

Since I missed Thursday’s run and cut Saturday’s a little short, I decided to run today on the treadmill.  I had a nice, easy 7 miles and felt pretty good about everything in general…just a typical, non-freak out run.

I only have 3 more runs before heading off to South Dakota for the race so this will be the easiest training week I’ve had in a very long time.  At this particular moment, I feel good about my training and confident that I have done my best to prepare for it.  This is actually the first time I’ve been nervous about a race.  I’m sure this week will be another week of ups and downs but I’m ready to do this!  Stay tuned for next week’s race recap!   Now back to checking the weather in South Dakota….

2 comments on “Marathon Training – Week 15

  1. all the best! sounds like you’re doing great!

Leave a Reply

