2 Comments

Guest Post: Real Food for your Furry Family

Hi!  I am so excited to be guest posting on My Real Food Family! I know some of you have dogs that are your family so I thought you might like this delicious recipe.
20130926-121304.jpgMy name is Bentley Mims and I am a Yorkie and a Real Food Dog.  Like my mom, I am an athlete.  I don’t run marathons like she does but I play frisbee every day so I need to stay healthy and make good food choices.  And real food helps my hair stay shiny….the ladies love that!  My mom feeds the people here real food and I just look at them with my cute puppy dog face

20130926-121352.jpg

and hope they share (could you say no to this face?).  My dad is good about sharing with me but sometimes my mom “accidentally” drops something on the floor so I get to sample their food.  I gotta say….real food tastes way better than packaged dog food.  My mom likes to read food labels (even on dog food) and was very concerned about some of the ingredients in my food.  I don’t know what some of that stuff is, but it doesn’t sound good and my people won’t eat it.  I will even sit and spin repeatedly to get some cheese.  I’ll do just about anything to get real food instead of that nasty dog food.  Don’t judge….my people like to see me spin and I’m all about making them happy.  I especially love quinoa and cheese.  So that means this recipe is one of my favorites.  My mom made a dozen so I’ve got some for the entire week!  Score!

20130926-121435.jpg

Quinoa Muffins for Your Furry Family

Ingredients:

1 cup quinoa (uncooked)

1 cup cheese

2 eggs

1 cup carrots, shredded

1 cup green beans, sliced

Directions:

Cook quinoa according to package directions and let cool for about 15 minutes.  Combine quinoa, cheese, eggs, carrots, and green beans in a bowl and mix completely.  Spoon into muffin tins, sprinkle a little cheese on top and cook at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes.  Allow to cool completely and enjoy (you may want to crumble up for smaller dogs).

Do you feed your pets real food?

2 comments on “Guest Post: Real Food for your Furry Family

  1. Thanks for the recipe, i think my Shih tzu would love these… do you have any other recipes for dogs?

Leave a Reply

