Leave a comment

Marathon Training: Week 1 – Hear Me Roar

tumblr_m5kjk2DABi1qzhwylo1_500

Marathon training has officially started!!!  YAY!!!  Like I said last week, I really enjoyed the recovery time, but I really love the focus of an official training plan with an end goal.  Yes, I’m a very goal-driven person….I fully admit to that.  I am calling week 1 a success but it wasn’t without its challenges for me.  Last weekend my throat started hurting and by Monday it was pretty clear that I was sick :(.  Not exactly what I wanted to have happen on the first week of training AND a busy week at work.  But I faced it and adjusted my training as necessary and it all worked out.  So the week was a success even though I wasn’t able to do every workout as scheduled and took an extra rest day.  Remember when I said my plan was a guideline and was somewhat flexible?  Yep, this is why.  So anyway, on to the recap of the week:

If you want to see the complete training plan, click here.  This week’s schedule was:

Monday: 6 miles at 90%

Tuesday: Rest or cross train

Wednesday: 5 miles of speed work and yoga

Thursday: 8 miles at race pace

Friday: Body pump or spin

Saturday: 15 miles at conversational pace

Sunday: 6 miles at 90% and yoga

And here’s how it ended up:

Monday:  6 miles on a hilly course with my training buddies.  It was early and dark, making it difficult to see the hills.  Running hills seems to work better that way.  We had an amazing run that felt great.  We ended up averaging around a 9:30 pace which was better than we expected and it was great company and the perfect way to kick off our marathon training (all 3 of us are running Houston so I thought it was particularly fitting to start together).  Interestingly enough, when I checked my email later and read the daily quote from Runner’s World, it was this: “Run in places you love with people you like.  Enjoying your surroundings and training partners will strengthen your commitment to running and bring out the best in you.”  –  Deena Kastor.  So we’re going to call this the perfect running day in every way because, well, it was.

Tuesday:  My sore throat from Sunday got worse Monday and turned into major sinus activity and a cough so I ended up staying home from work and taking a complete rest day.  Considering I slept about 19 hours that day, I guess it’s just what I needed.

Wednesday:  6 miles of speed work.  Actually, it’s 3 miles of actual speed training with easy jogs in between and a warm up and cool down jog.  I’m not sure why I scheduled this as 5 miles on the training plan but it just gave me an extra mile that I could take off later during the week.  I still wasn’t feeling 100% so I wouldn’t say this was my best run ever but it was still a great run.  For some reason, between the two of us, we couldn’t seem to work our watches correctly so I don’t have good split times on those but I know we hit them all in good times.  We did a ladder workout: 2×400, 1×800, 1×1600, 2×800, with 400s in between.  Great run and great way to start the day!  After work, I did 40 minutes of my Yoga for Runners DVD (that’s all I had time for).

Thursday:  I really hated to skip this run since it’s one of the really important ones but I just wasn’t feeling good and needed more rest.  So this turned in to another rest day.

Friday:  Finally this afternoon I started feeling pretty normal again!  So I decided to rearrange my training schedule and make up the run I missed.  Since I ran in the evening, not too long before Saturday’s long run, I decided to switch it with Saturday’s easy run.  So I ran 6 miles at a 9:30 pace and it felt great.  That little flexibility in training instead of sticking to the plan completely really helped.  I ended up missing a cross training day but I’m okay with that.  Flexibility, remember?!?

Saturday:  15 mile long run at conversational pace.  The temperature was very comfortable today but the humidity was terrible.  But we got it done!  A conversational pace means you actually get to talk so we were really able to multi-task and get in some social time.  Another great run!

Sunday:  I haven’t run yet but I’m going to run 7 on the treadmill (remember that extra mile I banked earlier this week?….taking it now) and then I’ll probably do a kettlebell DVD.

As far as my food choices this week, I’m extremely happy with them.  I am proud to say that I didn’t stray from clean eating except one time.  That one time was a hot dog at Family Day at my daughter’s college.  That’s all they had so I didn’t have any other choice without being a huge pain.  I never eat hot dogs because I’m just not a fan so this wasn’t something I would consider risky to throw me off track.  Oh, and I did have a scoop of vanilla ice cream there too.  Again, it wasn’t something that would derail my clean eating plan so it’s done and my next meal was good.  Actually, as I think back over the week, I also passed up sweets at work twice this week and wasn’t really even tempted (even though I love cake and muffins and they looked delicious).  That made me realize that I was more focused and determined than I knew.  I’ve always found it easy to justify that “it’s just one piece of cake” or whatever.  But there are only so many times you can say “one time isn’t a big deal” before it gets to be out of hand.  I probably won’t be this good every week but I’m pleased with my progress so far!

Another part of training that I am really focusing on this time is more mental….motivation and confidence, specifically.  Running with friends, I have lots of time to talk about this stuff with them (not to mention texting, emailing, and Facebook messages).  Running is not just a physical thing, you know.  Anyway, Patricia and I have been naming songs that really motivate and inspire us.  I always seem to come across one song that is particularly meaningful for me and this marathon is no different.  I haven’t mentioned the song to Patricia yet (it was waaayyyy more fun to tease her with it and let her guess) but I think she’ll find this song as motivating as I do.  So I’m not going to make her wait any longer….this marathon’s official song is Katy Perry’s “Hear Me Roar”.

I’d love to hear what you think about the song and what races you have coming up!

Leave a Reply

