5 Comments

Coconut Energy Bars

Since making a couple of raw desserts using dates, I started looking for other ways to use them.  I love the idea of just throwing a few ingredients into my Ninja and having a delicious, healthy dessert or snack in like 5 minutes.  Not using the oven saves so much energy….my energy – you know, preheating the oven, cooking, and cooling.  I just don’t have the energy for all that!  And I guess it saves the actual energy used by the oven too 🙂

These coconut energy bars only require a couple of simple ingredients, blend them, put into a pan refrigerate, cut and eat.  The real challenge is not eating them all at once!

coconut energy bars

Coconut Energy Bars

Ingredients:

1 cup walnuts

1 cup Medjool dates, pitted and halved (about 12)

1 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

1 tablespoon coconut oil, melted

Directions:

Add walnuts to food processor and pulse to a powdery form.  Add the dates slowly and combine thoroughly.  Add coconut and coconut oil until well blended (mixture will be pretty crumbly).  Pour mixture into an 8×8 dish lined with parchment paper and press flat.  Refrigerate for a couple of hours to allow to harden.  Using a knife, cut into desired shapes.

What is your favorite kind of energy bar?

5 comments on “Coconut Energy Bars

  1. I love this recipe. Simple and easy to make. We are a busy and active family, so we are always on the look out for healthy & quick-to-make recipes. I have several favourite energy bars, but our favourite one to make (right now) is this one – http://uberdish.ca/2013/09/14/banana-apple-oatmeal-energy-chews/ – especially with the Vega Maca Chocolate! 😉

  2. I’d like to invite you to join our site http://www.erecipe.com . I really enjoy your blog and recipes and I think the over 8,000 unique daily visitors to eRecipe will too.
    By joining eRecipe, we will provide the Nutrition Facts for every recipe you post in which you could customize and add to your blog. Viewers need and love to know the nutritional facts. Its a free service that we offer to blogs and recipes we really love. It looks professional and your members will love it.
    Simply visit http://www.erecipe.com or contact me at michelle@erecipe.com. We look forward having you in our network!

  3. Oh Yummy!! I like all of them. Lol hugs Paula xx

  4. […] of the other recipes I’ve posted (like these truffles, these peanut butter cookies, or these coconut energy bars), I sometimes don’t like to turn the oven on.  Call it lazy if you want, I call it being […]

Leave a Reply

