4 Comments

Cinnamon Baked Apples

We got a bunch of apples in our co-op basket this week.  I do love apples but I wasn’t quite sure what to do with all of them.  I took some for snacks at work and “encouraged” my family to eat them.  But we still had a bunch.  I’m not big on applesauce so that wasn’t really an option.  I do like apple pie and apple cobbler and apple crisp.  So I decided to bake them and add some oats and cinnamon and see what happened.  I loved it!  Mr. Real Food was a little skeptical because it didn’t have any butter or sugar in it but he agreed that it was great!  This was simple enough to throw together and put in the oven while cooking dinner.   You’ll have a hot, fresh, and delicious dessert waiting for you!

baked apples

Cinnamon Baked Apples

serves 2

Ingredients:

2 apples (any kind, I used granny smith)

4 tablespoons maple syrup

4 tablespoons oats

cinnamon

Directions:

Core apples and slice into pieces (I used this handy-dandy apple corer – OXO Good Grips Apple Corer and Divider).  Place apple slices into 2 ramekins and add half the maple syrup and oats to each.  Gently stir.  Top with cinnamon.  Bake at 350F for 25-30 minutes until apples are tender.

4 comments on “Cinnamon Baked Apples

  1. Perfect dessert for this time of year!

  2. Yum, sounds delicious and so easy! I think I’ll give this a go. Though maple syrup is so expensive here, I’ll probably give it a go with golden syrup instead, as that’s what I usually have in the cupboard. I wonder if honey would work well too?

  3. Yummy! I always have lots of apples in the fridge and sometimes they were left in there so long they became soft! This is a great idea to eat apples!

  4. Yummy! That looks delicious and simple! I will be trying! Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

