1 Comment

Stuffed Acorn Squash

I had never actually cooked an acorn squash before today but we got one in our co-op basket so I figured I’d give it a shot.  Now I’m left wondering what took me so long to discover the amazingness that is the acorn squash.  And I always think it’s especially cool when you can use food as a serving dish.  I mean, that’s just practical, right?!?  This is another super simple meal to prepare.  It takes a little time because the squash takes a bit to roast, but I don’t really count that time as active cooking time since I can do other things around the house.  Mr. Real Food wasn’t a huge fan of acorn squash.  He said it was a little too sweet for his taste (but he ate a big serving of it so you be the judge).  I thought it was perfect though and the flavors really worked well together.

stuffed acorn squash

Stuffed Acorn Squash

Ingredients:

1 acorn squash

1 cup corn

1 tofurkey sausage link (or whatever kind of sausage you like)

1/2 cup uncooked quinoa

Directions:

Cut the top off of the squash and roast in 375 degree oven for about 30 minutes, until the squash is tender.  Cook quinoa according to package directions.  Saute sausage and add corn until heated.  Combine sausage and corn with quinoa and fill the squash.  Be careful handling the squash as it will be very hot.

One comment on “Stuffed Acorn Squash

  1. Wow, looks good. Hugs Paula xxx

Leave a Reply

