Leave a comment

Healthy Eating Highlight #3

I can’t believe this year is almost over!!  How can it be Thanksgiving already and December?  I hope you and your family enjoy the holiday and your time together!

For this week’s healthy eating highlight, I am pleased to introduce you to Angie Reay!  Angie is an incredibly inspiring and encouraging person committed to helping others achieve their goals and get healthy.  I love seeing her workouts that she posts each day….even being extremely pregnant hasn’t stopped her from working out every day!  I also love seeing all the pictures she posts of her beautiful daughter….I miss my kids being that age!  I hope you enjoy getting to know her too!   If you’d like to be our next featured healthy eating highlight, comment here or email me at aprilmims72@yahoo.com.  I’d love to share your story too!

angie pic

Tell us a little about yourself.  My name is Angie Reay. I’m a wife, mother of a 2 year old and expecting baby 2 in January.  I’m the Assistant Director of Housing & Dining Services at Midwestern State University.  My husband is the Assistant Women’s Basketball Coach at MSU.  We both received our undergrad and Master’s degrees from MSU!  I’m also a AFAA certified, spin instructor, Insanity instructor, & Turbo certified.  I love helping others in all of my area. I’m also a Beachbody Coach. I love being able to share my love of fitness and healthy lifestyle with other people. I’m a small town girl from Kansas, but I got to Texas as quick as I could :).  I’ve been here since 2004 and love it!  I’m an avid runner, cyclist and love doing Beachbody workouts (T25 & Insanity for the most part).

What do you consider to be a healthy lifestyle?  I consider being able to make sound choices with everything you do from eating, working out, resting your body, and challenging your mind.  You must be able to be both mentally and physically sound of mind to lead the lifestyle you want.  Remember that it is a lifestyle, not a fad or diet.

What does your typical day look like?  Alarm goes off at 4:40a every day.  Yes, that’s early, but I know it’s the only time I can work that my family is still sleeping and I’m not taking time away from them.  I work out, come home, get ready for the day, get our daughter ready for school and then head to work.  After work, I pick up our daughter, cook dinner, play with her, bathe, and put her to bed.  Then it’s a small time, but quality time with my husband.  Weekends we are all about family!  Especially since my husband is a coach, we take advantage of all of our time together.  Family is my number one reason why I do anything.

What is your biggest challenge to living a healthy lifestyle?  Food!  I love to eat!  Making sounds choices is my best option.  Small changes like wheat pasta ( I don’t remember the time I ate white), whole wheat bread, turkey, chicken (we don’t eat beef often), etc.  I could probably eat my weight in sweets!  I have sweet teeth, not a sweet tooth :).

What motivates you to choose a healthy lifestyle?  Most of my family is overweight and struggle with diabetes & other health issues.   I don’t want to end up like that.  I want to be here on this Earth with my children and husband as long as I can until we reunite.  I love being able to help others.  I get told I’m intimidating because of the things I do.  I want you to know that you can be at any level and do this!  You working out is more than those sitting at home on the couch eating junk!  I want others to lead healthy lifestyles, so I feel I must be a role model and show them they can do that.

What advice would you offer to someone struggling to get started?  Find an accountability partner or group.  Making someone do it with you will keep both of you motivated.  Those days I don’t want to get up, I know I have my class participants that need me there!  I’m always here to help you get going!

How can readers contact you?  You can contact me at angie.reay@mwsu.edu Facebook, Twitter (AngieReay), Instagram (areay22), and Pinterest.  I’m on Google, but not often.

family pic

Leave a Reply

