2 Comments

Marathon Training – Week 7: The ideal running temperature

Well….seems that I’m a little late again getting this post out.  I could make all kinds of excuses (race on Sunday, too tired, etc) but the truth is that I had a pretty bad ending to the week.  The rest of the week was great but one day seemed to overshadow the other 6 days.  Even the one “bad” day wasn’t that bad.  It just wasn’t what I expected and I let that get to me.  But that’s one of those things that I really need to accept and move on.  I’ve analyzed the day and know what I could have done differently and the things that were beyond my control.  More about that later.

images (15)

Here’s how my week looked:

Monday:  I was feeling pretty beat up after the 5k and 19 mile long runs from the past 2 days so I decided not to run today and give my legs a break.  Since I was off work for Veteran’s Day, I decided to check out a local yoga place.  I went to a strictly core class.  It was pretty tough!  I’m not sure that I’ve ever sweat during yoga (this wasn’t hot yoga) but I did here.  Can’t wait to get to another class.  From there I headed to my gym for Body Pump.

Tuesday:  I’ve often heard people talk about tripping and falling during a run but it had never actually happened to me.  Well, my 7 year streak ended today.  Somehow I tripped over a rock hole in the street or something and fell hard.  Luckily, it was dark and there was no one to witness it.  I don’t even know why I’m admitting to it since there were no witnesses.  Oh well, it happened.  But fortunately, I wasn’t really hurt and just ended up with a bruised knee and scraped up hand and shoulder.  Obviously that was my slowest mile but it ended up being a great run otherwise.  I finished 7 miles in 1:01.  Not too bad for an easy run!

Wednesday:  I am so loving the cooler temperatures.  Capris and a long sleeved shirt and I’m good to go!  These 7 miles felt good….finished in 58 minutes.

Thursday:  I didn’t have a specific plan for doing speedwork so I decided to do 800 meter repeats on the road.  I figured out how to set my watch to beep every half mile so I didn’t have to keep checking (or find a track that was open at 5 AM).  I was able to hit every half mile between 3:37 and 3:43!  Adding a half mile easy run between each interval, I ended up with 10.5 miles at an overall 8:18 pace.  The cooler temperatures are really, really helping!  At this point, I have no doubt that I’ll be able to PR my half marathon on Sunday.  I was only 2.5 miles short of the distance here and faster than I need to be.

Friday:  I ran a nice, easy 5 miles in the morning and felt great!  After work, I went to Body Pump.

Saturday:  Decided to take a rest day today to relax before tomorrow’s race.  That will leave me with miles to make up some other day, but that’s fine.

Sunday:  After running in the mid-30s – low 40s all week, the temp at race time was well into the 70s.  Ugh!  Not at all what I had planned for.  Then, 15 minutes after leaving my house, I realized I had left my watch at home.  Double ugh!  So I downloaded a running app to my phone so I’d be able to monitor my times.  Unfortunately, the race started without much warning so I wasn’t able to start the app.  This is the first race that I carried my own water bottle with Generation UCAN.  My plan was to drink it around mile 6 or 7.  I have no idea how fast I ran the first mile but it was pretty quick and much faster than I should have.  Near the end of mile 2, I was really feeling it and had to slow down.  The temperature continued to rise and the course was not shady at all.  That water bottle was gone before mile 6.  I took water and gatorade from the other water stations after that but was still hot and getting dehydrated.  The rest of the race was a combination running and walking, finishing in 1:57.  It wasn’t a bad time but it’s not what I had trained for.  It was enough for 2nd place in my age group though!  That afternoon, I really felt like *@%! from dehydration and tried to rehydrate and rest.  It was kind of a bummer day and I let it overshadow the rest of the awesome week I had.  But next week is a cut back week so that will be a time to reassess and get over this race.  I’ve got one more half marathon scheduled for the year.  Surely it won’t be 80 degrees on New Years Eve, right?!?

My eating this week wasn’t ideal but since I waited so long, I can’t remember the details.  I’m going to say it was at least 80% clean but I’ve still got some work to do to get where I want to be.  So on to next week and a whole new attitude!

Michael Jordan 4

Have you had any bad race experiences that overshadowed your training?  How did you get over it?

2 comments on “Marathon Training – Week 7: The ideal running temperature

  1. Sorry about your fall! I’ve come close..but haven’t fallen yet. (Knocking on wood right now). I’ve only done two races so far. Have many more planned for 2014 so we’ll see! I do have bad runs…but I always feel good after a bad run (after I sulk for a few minutes first). I feel good that I got out and did it, and I feel good because after a bad run, usually comes a good run! It might be mental, but it works! 🙂

    • At least there were no witnesses 🙂 What races do you have planned? I am all about mental strategies for running….it helps so much if your mind can keep your body going. I tell myself the same thing about bad runs. And the next run is always good 🙂

Leave a Reply

