6 Comments

Homemade Tortillas

Have you read the list of ingredients on store bought tortillas?  There are a ton of ingredients.  I would tell you what they all really are but that would require some research and I’m feeling a little lazy so I thought I’d just give you a healthier alternative.  Making your own tortillas is really easy and requires very few ingredients (and they are easily pronounced).  It could even be a fun activity to do with your children!

tortillas

Homemade Healthy Tortillas

Ingredients:

3 cups unbleached all purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

6 tablespoons olive oil

1 1/2 cup water

Directions:

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl.  Allow to sit for about 20 minutes.  Roll dough into balls.  Roll each ball into a flat tortilla and cook over medium heat for about a minute on each side.  This yields about 16 burrito size tortillas.

6 comments on “Homemade Tortillas

  1. Thank you! I currently live in Israel and I miss tortillas, especially since I lived in TX for 5 years and could get them fresh every day!

  2. I had no idea they were so simple to make!!

  3. […] out my recipe for homemade tortillas too for a deliciously healthy alternative to store bought […]

  4. This ain’t rocket science

  5. […] out my recipe for homemade tortillas too for a deliciously healthy alternative to store bought […]

Leave a comment