6 Comments

Vegetarian Lasagna (Gluten Free)

I don’t make lasagna very often since it’s not really a quick and easy meal but I have always loved to eat it.  But, since I’ve eliminated almost all meat from my diet, I haven’t had it in quite a while.  I’ve been really curious about vegetarian lasagna but haven’t gotten around to trying it.  My brother and his family were coming for a visit though and lasagna is an ideal choice to feed a large group.  I had a traditional meat lasagna just in case no one liked the veggie lasagna but they were both eaten!  I’m not sure you could really even call this a recipe since I didn’t actually measure anything.  Any way you combine these ingredients though will turn out really well and you can use as much or as little of it as you’d like!

veggie lasagna

Gluten Free Vegetarian Lasagna

Ingredients

  • Zucchini, sliced into 1/8 inch lengthwise strips (or thinner)
  • 1 can all-natural tomato sauce
  • 1 can all-natural crushed tomatoes
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1 cup sliced mushrooms
  • 4 cups baby spinach leaves
  • 1 tablespoon oregano
  • 1 tablespoon basil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • ricotta cheese
  • mozzarella cheese
  • parmesan cheese

Directions:

In a large skillet, combine the tomato sauce, tomatoes, onion, garlic, mushrooms, spinach, oregano, basil and salt.  Bring to a gentle boil and reduce heat and simmer for 30-45 minutes.  In a 13×9 baking dish, place a single layer of zucchini.  Top with a layer of sauce (I usually end up with 2 layers of lasagna so I would use half of the sauce here).  Add a layer of ricotta, mozzarella, and parmesan (using as much or as little as you’d like).  Add another layer of zucchini, followed by sauce and cheese.  Bake at 350*F for about 45 minutes or until cheese is golden brown.

6 comments on “Vegetarian Lasagna (Gluten Free)

  1. Looks great! I haven’t tried GF & Veg lasagna with zucchini. I make it with eggplant. It is super yummy! I found you on Bloggy Mom’s June Blog Hop. My link is for GF & Vegan Espresso Brownie Bites. The link is http://noskinnies.com/blog/2013/6/18/best-espresso-brownie-bites-gluten-free-vegan-low-carb.
    Stop by http://www.NoSkinnies.com. From looking at your recipes I think you’ll like the recipes on my site too. Thanks!

  2. This looks absolutely comforting and I for sure wouldn’t miss the meat!
    Thank you so much for sharing this at Wednesday Extravaganza – can’t wait to see what you share next week 🙂

  3. I love vegetable lasagna! Yours looks awesome. Thanks for joining us this week at The Lets Get Social Sunday linky party. I host a party on Tuesday called The gathering Spot and would love it if you’d share something sometime. Have a wonderful week 🙂 Diane @MamalDiane

  4. This looks so yummy! Thanks for linking up to the pin it proudly link party last week. I can’t wait to see what you link up this week.

  5. […] 10.  Vegetarian Lasagna (Gluten Free) […]

Leave a comment